Never Seventeen

Award-winning writer, Dave Lewis, has recently published his eighteenth book, a collection of modern, haiku-like moments written over the last few years. Published in Oct 2018 by Publish & Print.

This is his second full ‘haiku‘ collection, although others can be found in some of Lewis’s other books.


“This collection of modern, haiku-like moments is an absolute joy. Beautifully honest, these short, simple poems are extremely easy to read yet are constructed with great artistry and wisdom. Lewis’s poetry is honest, relatable, eloquent yet quite breath taking. He possesses a rare vision and this collection will surely bring any reader to an enlightened state of self-awareness. Powerfully expressed he captures both universal human experience and many of those particular struggles that we face at some point in our lives.

Lewis should be at the forefront of a poetry renaissance and this stunning work will breathe new life into the art form, communicating, as he does, complex emotions subtly weaved within razor-sharp observations – he distils life down to a bare minimum. A book to dip into over and over again and one which reveals more with each read.” – Andrew Davies

A great little present for anyone interested in poetry, nature and our place in the world.

This book can be purchased as a paperback for £7.99 (plus postage) or as an e-book on Amazon kindle for £3.99.

Sample poems:

ocean art class

driftwood, seaweed, shells

walking from Tenby to Penally

silence after sighs

the river still dripping

from the kingfisher

Roshach’s jackdaws

spilled across a blue and white sky

questioning my sanity each Tuesday

the FTSE up

on the wine bar TV

more ‘Spice’ victims in the park

buttercups and daisies shake

as the old horse ambles along

– summer field

getting to know myself better

the Kalahari

through the truck window

garden spider weaving

an old world map

autumn dew becoming sea

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.